Dropping Off the Face of the Earth and Other Updates

I know, I know. It’s been two months since my last blog post. I’m embarrassed actually. I do have a legitimate excuse though! At the beginning of last month, I packed up my entire life and moved halfway across the country to university. Let me tell you, it’s been a wild ride so far.

Picture this: A shy, seventeen year old girl with two trunks, two suitcases and a laundry basket in a 2m x 2m room. There’s a single bed pushed into one corner, a bedside table and book shelf next to it, a chest of drawers and a desk pushed up against the built-in cupboard. And there’s a sink.

img_4305

That’s a lot squished into such a small space, but that was me on the 6th of February 2016. It was moving-in day, and I’ve never been so terrified in my life. I knew approximately two people in Grahamstown at that point, and that didn’t settle my nerves at all.

I had several fears: Am I going to understand course work? Am I going to make friends? I concur that I’ve never had much luck in that department. Being a real-life Sheldon Cooper cross Hermione Granger doesn’t bode well for making friends. Am I going to survive res food?

Fast forward three weeks and I’m settled in, attending class and still sticking to my best friend like glue. But then came Friday night and a practical all-nighter with some of the best people I’ve met in a long time – admittedly, they’re annoying as all hell but I love them. Trecking up the hill to res in icy wind and rain, Karen (aforementioned bestie) and I made friends.

Things changed after that. I was no longer sitting alone in lectures, going out consisted of dancing in groups and not just Karen and I (though that still happens because sometimes we need time to ourselves) and midnight runs to Steers became a regular outing.

Now, as I sit in my bed at home in Durban, I find myself wanting to get back to university as soon as possible. I miss my friends. I miss the independence, especially because I’m being treated like a child again. I HAVE BEEN ADULTING FOR TWO WHOLE MONTHS. I am not a child (even though my age begs to differ). I miss sitting through lectures and trying to stop myself from falling asleep. Let’s be real 7:45 Chemistry lectures are the worst! I even miss the bad dining hall food and that’s saying something.

I’m counting down the days until I return to G-Vegas and see the people I’ve come to love. I can’t wait for my best-friend-dates with Karen (and our spontaneous photoshoots) and my misadventures with making pasta in a mug and Dakota’s midnight cereal visits. I can’t wait to bad mouth Maths 1S with Xander, because we understand each other’s pain, and to giggle over Rhodes Crushes with Bex. I can’t wait for Saturday to arrive.

In other news, I’ve got some future blogs and videos planned (check it out on my twitter). I’m excited to film a dorm room tour and to post about my newest makeup and clothes buys (thank you Christmas vouchers and mom – Durban weather does not equate to many warm clothes, which are definitely needed in G-town).

I’m also turning 18 pretty soon, so I am looking forward to that. I’ve already received part of my birthday present – a new laptop. Hopefully my mom is catching my hints about the Inglot makeup brushes that I’ve been coveting since last year…

Now that I’m settled and comfortable with the fact that I’m a 12 hour drive from home, I hope to post more. We’ve also just entered autumn in the southern hemisphere and this means THEMED POSTS AND VIDEOS. I’m hoping to do a mini-series of all sorts of autumn related posts. I pray that you like this idea and will follow the series as it develops.

On that note, I bid you farewell for now. It’s 00:43 and my eyes are beginning to droop. I’ll be back with a new post soon – I promise. img_3301

FIND ME AT:

 Twitter | YouTube | Bloglovin’ | Instagram | Pinterest

Tell me what you think!

