Legalities

18. That’s a pretty important birthday. Once you’re 18 in South Africa, you can drive, you can drink (not at the same time though! Safety first!), you can vote. You are a fully-blown adult. So why do I still feel like a child?

A week ago I turned 18. It was kind of a big deal for me. I was at university, away from my family, and I kind of felt like it would be a let down. Let me assure you – it was not. My lovely friends made sure it was a day to remember even though there had been a sorrowful week preceding it (#RUReferenceList).

The festivities started the day before (April 23). It had been a relatively relaxed day but my friends and I decided we were going to go out to celebrate. I spent a few hours getting ready (I even wore falsies!), so we could go out at about 21:30, and when my friends phoned me to tell me they were outside, I was pumped. I was going to be legal in a matter of hours!

When I went down to let them into res, I was surprised with balloons, a caramel and cream tart and several lovely presents! I was sung to and that was the beginning of a wonderful birthday. I lead them up to my room and opened my presents. It was cheating since it wasn’t quite my birthday yet but neither they nor I cared. I was gifted delicious chocolates, a starfish room decoration (WHICH I LOVE), and most importantly – a silver bracelet from Karen. When I opened Karen’s gift I was ready to cry. It means so much to me and I am yet to take my bracelet off.

Once I had calmed down a bit, we were on our way! In Grahamstown, everything is relatively close so we walked to Friar’s, or as it is so lovingly named the “Devil’s Playground”.

Not going into too many details, but I had my first legal drink and my friends and I danced the night away (jokes – I was back at res by 2:00). It was a lovely evening and I am so thankful to my friends for spending my birthday with me.

The next morning I was woken up at 7:30 by my mom phoning to wish me. She was down the south coast with my gran, whose birthday is the day after mine. I admit, I was tired, so the phone call was kept short – with a promise of FaceTime later. I fell back to sleep until my dad and brother phoned at 9:00 and then proceeded to get up for the day. I was 18, but I didn’t feel any different (I do now)! The influx of lovely birthday messages was wonderful and I appreciated them all so much.

Bex, Karen and I then went for coffee and cake at Mugg & Bean. It was not a disappointment! I had the most delicious cake – choc chip cookie dough! – and frozen mocha, whilst Karen had lemonade and cheesecake and Bex had lemon meringue. As all good friends do, we each gave the others a taste of our respective cakes. It was so nice to sit and chat, because we barely get time to do that anymore.

I then spent the rest of the afternoon up at Karen’s res with Priya and Ari, and came back to my own res to spend some time with my cousin, who game me some beautiful flowers and more chocolate!

All in all, it was a wonderful birthday! But for some reason, I still don’t feel like a fully functioning adult. I spent the weekend watching kids movies and tv series!  I’m still the baby of my friends at varsity and that’s okay. The stigma around “growing up” sucks. I’d much rather be a kid again – no budgeting, no doing your own laundry, no responsibilities. I suppose it’s okay though, because it’s always good to stay young at heart.

I know this probably isn’t what you expected as a blog posts, but it’s been so hard to keep on top of varsity and my blog. I have three practicals a week and one tutorial as well as lectures every morning until 12:20. It’s hectic. Pharmacy is no joke.

On top of that, it’s been ridiculously cold this weekend. 6°C is not fun. I’m pretty sure I don’t own warm enough clothes to survive anything colder… Whoops! Cold weather does not equal a productive Cléa. I spent nearly all weekend in bed watching kiddies movies (LILO AND STITCH FOR THE WIN) and drinking coffee.

That being said, I’m planing my next blog post to be an “Autumn LookBook”. I hope that will get this back on track towards a beauty blog! Trying to find that happy medium between winter and summer outfits is so hard and I thought I’d share a week of clothes with you!

I would also like to do a #AskCleaBean as a video soon so please use that hashtag on Twitter to ask me questions!

 

img_3301-1

FIND ME AT:

 Twitter | YouTube | Bloglovin’ | Instagram | Pinterest

Tell me what you think!

