Updated Hair Care

Hair care is one of my top priorities. My hair constantly needs to be cared for, but last year I wasn’t caring for it appropriately. I was just using random products that others had told me of – despite the fact that none of them had dry, curly, frizzy hair like me. A lot has changed in the year since my last hair care post so I’m here to update you!

 One major thing that has changed since last year is that I am now using products that are specifically for my hair type. It’s helped wonders and I’m seeing such a difference in my hair’s health!

I used to think using products made for your hair type was a sham but clearly it isn’t. Since using hair products specifically for dry, curly, frizzy hair and for brunettes, my hair has improved greatly. My long tresses are looking healthier than ever and my colour is rich and bright!

I have also started using treatments like masks, oils and balms. I can honestly say treatments help, so please don’t leave them out of your routine!

The one thing that hasn’t changed, however, is the amount of times I was my hair a week. I’m still washing my hair twice a week, but that is actually healthy for my hair type as too much shampooing can result in drying out my curls further and greater frizz products and breakage.

About half-way through this year, my mom and hairdresser both said that my hair had declined greatly. They had chalked this up to a change in water and weather conditions that were a result of moving to the other side of the country. Regardless of the reasons, I was told I needed to get my hair in check or else I’d have no other option than to chop it all off (not literally but shoulder length may as well be all off in my opinion).

I was on a mission to fix this hairy situation and I started this off by changing my shampoo. I made the switch to Reflections and I am never going to look back. I started off using the Moroccan Argan Oil Shampoo to get my hair back on track and then switched to the Sulphate Free Gentle Care Shampoo and the Colour Revive Brunette Shampoo. I’m still using these two because I really like them – they don’t make my hair too oily like the Argan Oil Shampoo. I switch these out between washes, so once a week I’ll use the Sulphate Free Shampoo whilst the second time I wash my hair each week I’ll use the Colour Revive Shampoo. These both have so many wonderful benefits for my hair – and they smell great too!

I have also been using the Denman Be-Bop Massaging Brush to massage my shampoo into my scalp and really clean my hair. This brush also stimulates the hair follicles, which results in new hair growth – I have plenty of new baby hairs to prove this!

Following shampoo, I apply masks or balms. Sticking to Reflections, I use their Coconut Oil Hair Mask, as well as more recently the Garnier Ultimate Blends Sleek Restorer Balm. The Reflections Hair Mask, in my opinion, is for the days that I either want to let my hair dry naturally or days when I want more texture and the Garnier Balm is for the days that I want sleek, silky hair. They both smell amazing and both are coconut based, so you know that stuff is good for your hair! I usually let it sit in my hair for anywhere between 5 to 10 minutes before washing it out.

Yet again, I use the Denman Be-Bop Brush to comb the mask or balm through my hair evenly. This ensures that all strands are covered in the treatment.

As I mentioned before, I have been really into oils lately and currently my favourites are the Garnier Ultimate Blends Strength Restorer Serum and the Sleek Perfector Oil. These contain honey bee propolis and coconut oil respectively, and smell divine. The scent definitely lingers in your hair long after you’ve used it!

I use the Strength Restorer Serum whilst still in the shower and focus it on the ends of my hair. The steam from a hot shower helps the oil penetrate the hair and lock in the moisture. I like to use the Sleek Perfector Oil before I style my hair to protect against heat damage as well as after to smooth my hair and tame any frizz.

Neither of these leave my hair feeling greasy which is a massive plus in my eyes. Personally I use the Sleek Perfector Oil everyday because it just finishes off your hair so wonderfully.

I am now styling my hair more often, and blow drying it obviously isn’t the greatest but all of these products really protect my hair. I’ve noticed that I don’t have nearly as much fall out and breakage since properly taking care of my hair. I honestly urge everyone to use products designed for their actual hair types in order for it to look the best it possibly can!

While we’re on the topic of hair care, don’t forget to go check out my review video for Beauty Bulletin, Garnier and Denman -> #BBRecruitReview

I’m curious as to what products you use on your hair! Let me know; maybe myself or other would like to try them out!

Lakeesha Alley isKissing her Married Life.jpg

FIND ME AT:

 Twitter | YouTube| Instagram

DISCLAIMER: This post contains sponsored products but I would never promote things I don’t like or agree with.

Tell me what you think!

