Summer Glow Up

If I could be a superhero, I think I’d like to be Glow Girl – a fan brush-wielding warrior that fights crime by blinding villains with her popping highlight. All jokes aside, there’s nothing I love more than a gorgeous glow, especially in summer!

In summer, I try my hardest to wear as little makeup as possible. Even with primer and setting spray, it just sweats off over the course of scorching hot days – Durban’s heat & humidity is both a blessing and a curse.

There are so many things that go into achieving beautiful, glowing skin. Both sleep and drinking lots of water are vital, as is eating healthily (you NEED those vitamins and minerals), but I want to focus on beauty products.

My first step to radiant skin is good skin care. Exfoliating is key for smooth, soft skin. I like using a multitude of scrubs. Currently I am using Derm-X, an all natural skin exfoliator, for my face and the Essence 3-in-1 Wash, Scrub & Mask for an all-over body scrub. I’m also quite partial to homemade sugar or coffee scrubs. I try to exfoliate two to three times a week, and focus on problem areas – this means any areas of dry or pimpled skin.

Following exfoliation, I moisturise. A moisturiser or primer with a shimmery undertone looks amazing in the warmer months. Your skin appears so healthy! Moisturising in general is SUPER important and I found that it is mostly trial & error until you find one that works for you.

Before priming, I use an eye serum. The Essence My Skin Cooling Eye Roll-on decreases puffy circles and brightens under eyes. I don’t use this daily, but rather on days where I’ve been up late the previous night (Summer parties are the best!). I let that rest for a few minutes before continuing with my makeup.

I like to prime my face daily, even if I’m just putting on a little bit of concealer. Primer combats my oiliness, and keeps my face matte. Currently I love Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser, although I also use the Nivea Post Shave Balm. Unfortunately I’m yet to find an affordable cruelty-free primer that I like. What would you suggest?

For a light summer look, I go in with a light to medium coverage concealer (depending on how much you apply). I bought the Wet n Wild CoverAll Liquid Concealer because my usual concealer wasn’t in stock and I was pleasantly surprised by it. It’s not at all heavy, despite the formula being quite dense. Other concealers I like to use are the L.A. Girl HD Pro Concealer and the Essence Stay All Day Concealer.

Of course, a highlighter would be included in this post. It’s all about the GLOW. A product I have raved about before is the L.A. Girl Velvet Hi-Lite Stick. The creamy formula is so pigmented – applying this will make you appear like you are radiating light from within! I just blend this with a bit of face oil and apply it to areas I want to highlight.

Sometimes I want to up the glow and my go-to powder highlighter is the NYX Illuminator, although the new Essence Luminizer Palette is creeping up behind. I like to dust this on top of the cream highlight, just to make it POP even more.

Summer is also about looking beautifully bronzed. I usually stick to a matte bronzer, but in the summertime, I switch it up and use a shimmery bronzer. I quite like the Essence Sun Club bronzers. I would like to find more though, so please recommend some glittery bronzers for me! The great thing about these are that you can contour with it, but also apply it gently all over the face for a sun-kissed glow. The current bronzer I’m using has multiple tones that blend together beautifully to get the perfect shade.

Despite wanting your skin aglow, I’m sure no one wants to look like an oily mess. Setting your T-zone with a mattifying powder will avoid a greasy look whilst still keeping you radiating! I prefer an translucent powder so that my skin tone doesn’t change. This Essence All About Matt! Fixing Compact Powder does the trick – although I do like a loose powder more. Just a light dusting is necessary to set your concealer.

A gentle summer glow is my result after using these products. I love the simplicity of the look, but also love that it can be amped up – you can still achieve a glowing makeup look by adding more products if you have the basics down.

What are some of your favourite products that help you get your glow on? Let me know!

lakeesha-alley-iskissing-her-married-life

FIND ME AT:

 Twitter | YouTube| Instagram

DISCLAIMER: This is not a sponsored post, although it does contain a sponsored product (Derm-X). All image are mine. A product (Skin Glow) was removed from this post because the company scams people and I do not want to promote products like that on my blog.

Tell me what you think!

